Need Info on 34 Mainship Trawler

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pattyshades

Vessel Name
LADY MARILYN
Vessel Make
34 MAINSHIP
Hi. this is my first time on this or any other site. I have a few questions about a 34 2005 Main Ship Trawler. I am in the process of making an offer on one. Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of this boat. Is it top heavy, how does it handle in a following sea, are the decks soft, etc. Thank you.

Welcome aboard! I am sure some 34 owners will be along shortly to give you some words of wisdom. Otherwise, do a search and see what pops up.

There is also a Mainship owners section Marlow - Mainship - Trawler Forum

Last edited:
Pattyshades

We have owned a 2004 Mainship 34 for a year and it has been an excellent boat. We have not been in heavy seas so I can't answer those questions. We have found no soft decks or leaks in the boat, the bilge stays dry. Our boating is done mostly on the Tennessee River and we have a covered slip which might help prevent some problems. Get a good survey and enjoy your new boat.

Ray

MS 34 Pros & Cons

Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of this boat. Is it top heavy, how does it handle in a following sea, are the decks soft, etc. Thank you.

Pattyshades...
We are in our third season... and love our 34 HT.
Handling is a minor problem for us... Have noticed some issue w following seas but boating inland this is minor for us... Also we are a hardtop so no bridge to accentuate the movement.
Soft decks are an individual boat issue... I believe most of the MS deck issues are w the older ones. A good survey should identify deck issues and the extent.
I don't think many manufacturers do what is recommended as best practice when mounting hdwre on cored decks. You might consider reworking mountings over time as a preventive measure.. Lots of good How To info out there on how to do this.

Things we like...