Old 01-21-2013, 08:16 AM   #1

City: Maumelle, AR
Mainship 34 at sea

My wife and I have been keeping a single diesel trawler in mind for a few years, but not acting on it. A few months ago I was working on a business deal when a 1981 34 Mainship II became part of a trade to complete the deal. I took it. I own it. Now to determine what I have.

We have been working on removing "previous owner wiring" that was not well installed. We have replaced the head, the water heater and a few other items. The prop has some damage and has been rebuilt a few times if I am correct in reading the repair stamps. The pitch definitely has been changed. We do have the 200 HP Perkins - ST6.3544M.

My question at this time concerns the history of this model boat handling the seas. We are on the river system and plan to take the boat down the Mississippi next fall for some time on the gulf coast. We will probably travel toward the Galveston area for a while with its big bays and then over to the Florida coast and make the crossing from one of the ports to Tarpon Springs. Is this a model boat good for this type cruising?

bikeandboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:35 AM   #2
Guru

City: Hailing Port: Charleston, SC
Vessel Name: Moonstruck
Vessel Model: Sabre 42 Hardtop Express
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikeandboat View Post

My question at this time concerns the history of this model boat handling the seas. We are on the river system and plan to take the boat down the Mississippi next fall for some time on the gulf coast. We will probably travel toward the Galveston area for a while with its big bays and then over to the Florida coast and make the crossing from one of the ports to Tarpon Springs. Is this a model boat good for this type cruising?