Looked at a 1981 Mainship 34 II...thoughts?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

davesisk

Vessel Name
Night Rider
Vessel Make
1989 Bayliner 3818
Hey guys...I'm a newbie here, I've been lurking for a couple weeks, and I've got a few questions.

Last weekend, I went and looked at an older Mainship 34 at the coast here in NC. I spent the night on it, it was reasonably comfortable. Here's the good and bad:

Good:
1) In 2009, it was repowered with a new Perkins 165hp diesel, and it only has about 20 hours or so on it. I don't know if this model even has glow plugs, I don't think it spins more than 1 revolution before it starts. Big plus here. New main battery too (that's a big battery!)

2) The hull appears to be in good shape, bottom was recently painted. I could only find one minor leak (the hatch on bow).

3) The water pumps and plumbing appear to all work, running water, shower, electric marine head...I didn't check the hot water heater, but it looks fairly new. There's AC/heat, and that works (or at least the AC does).

4) There's very little rotten wood (a couple of small spots of the trim on the back). No rotten wood around the sliding door. Overall, it structurally and functionally appears to be very good. (A survey would confirm that.)

Bad:
1) There's a diesel generator that is locked up and won't turn-over (even jumped to the huge main battery). This is quite an expensive replacement (although I'm not sure I'd truly need it for the way I'd use the boat).

2) The carpet is old and musty, the couch is old and a little ragged. (This can be replaced though...this is probably the easiest fix out of anything.) The top side could really use a paint job.