Lehman 135 Cruise RPM

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LarryBud49

Vessel Name
Pleasure Island
Vessel Make
Marine Trader DC 34'
What RPM do you use for cruising and what fuel comsuption to you get?

I'm fairly new to the forum and trawlers. We have had our 1988 Marine Trader DC for just a month. It has a Ford Lehman 135 engine. I've not seen many posts regarding this combination, but like I said I've only been here a short time. A lot of posts on the Lehman 120, not so many on the 135.

The PO said he cruised at 1200 RPM and got 3 GPH. The RPM seems low to me and the GPH high based on readings in the forum and the power curves in the engine manual. With only a few hours on the water so far I haven't gotten my own data yet and I'm hoping some other forum members have the same engine and can give me some numbers based on experience with similar boats.

Thanks all.

I'm fairly new to the forum and trawlers. We have had our 1988 Marine Trader DC for just a month. It has a Ford Lehman 135 engine. I've not seen many posts regarding this combination, but like I said I've only been here a short time. A lot of posts on the Lehman 120, not so many on the 135.

The PO said he cruised at 1200 RPM and got 3 GPH. The RPM seems low to me and the GPH high based on readings in the forum and the power curves in the engine manual. With only a few hours on the water so far I haven't gotten my own data yet and I'm hoping some other forum members have the same engine and can give me some numbers based on experience with similar boats.

Thanks all.

Agreed.... my charts say 1200 rpm should only be about 1.0 GPH...

3.0 GPH shouldn't occur till over 2000 rpm which my boat has proven to me.

I plan on cruising around 1600-1700 RPM so I get slightly less than 2.0 GPH and hopefully somewhere's around 6.5-7.0 knots and average around 4.0 NMPG

Last edited: