Trawler Forum

Trawler Forum (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/)
-   How To Use The Forum, Site News & Account Concerns (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s22/)
-   -   Connection has been reset (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s22/connection-has-been-reset-7488.html)

Marin 10-12-2012 12:39 PM

Connection has been reset
 
After a long period of behaving properly the forum is back to giving a "Connection has been reset" notice when opening the site or sending a post. Not every time obviously but a lot. As this happens only on this URL--- none of the many other URLs I open every day does this--- and as it happens on my Mac at home, my iPad, and the two PCs I use at work, and happens with Safari, Firefox, MS Explorer, and Chrome, my guess is it's an anomaly with the Forum software or hosting hardware.

Just thought I'd mention it.....

bobofthenorth 10-12-2012 06:22 PM

FWIW I come here at least daily, often more than once per day & I have never had any problems with this site whatsoever. Win 7 / IE8 and more recently on my Android.

CPseudonym 10-12-2012 06:27 PM

No issues here either, across multiple platforms.

IE, Chrome, Android and Apple too.

Keith 10-12-2012 06:34 PM

No problems here.

dwhatty 10-12-2012 06:37 PM

No problems here with Firefox & WIN XP.

Larry M 10-13-2012 07:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marin (Post 107816)
After a long period of behaving properly the forum is back to giving a "Connection has been reset" notice when opening the site or sending a post. Not every time obviously but a lot. As this happens only on this URL--- none of the many other URLs I open every day does this--- and as it happens on my Mac at home, my iPad, and the two PCs I use at work, and happens with Safari, Firefox, MS Explorer, and Chrome, my guess is it's an anomaly with the Forum software or hosting hardware.

Just thought I'd mention it.....

I periodically see the same thing when sending a post. I have attributed it to the wifi connection. But you're right, this is the only site that I see it.

Peter B 10-15-2012 03:21 AM

Never had a problem Marin, using Firefox on MacBook.

JanisK 10-15-2012 05:50 AM

No problem with Win7 and Firefox

Marin 10-15-2012 02:56 PM

Well, it's still doing it. With Windows the warning is "Database Error." With Macs it's "Connection has been reset."

Just out of curiosity I asked some people at work to try it on their computers (PCs, Windows and Firefox) and the same thing happened. Eventually it starts connecting okay but it's a fairly frequent occurrence. No other URL that we try does this. Only TF.

Rambler 10-15-2012 03:09 PM

Works great here and at home on whatever it is I have, Windows on an IBM type machine that was made for me (office) and store bought (office depot) @ home. The netbook runs this well too, given some slack for the wi-fi connection. And on my travels I haven't had any problems connecting or posting that I'd say was site specific.

dvd 10-15-2012 08:44 PM

No problems for me -- haven't seen that message at all. I access on Mac Book Pro and i-Pad, both using Safari, and no issues.

dvd

BruceK 10-15-2012 11:19 PM

Was seeing that message, maybe 4 months back, not now. Was then using Windows Vista & Mozilla - Acer brand Notebook. BruceK

Peter B 10-16-2012 11:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marin (Post 108236)
Well, it's still doing it. With Windows the warning is "Database Error." With Macs it's "Connection has been reset."

Just out of curiosity I asked some people at work to try it on their computers (PCs, Windows and Firefox) and the same thing happened. Eventually it starts connecting okay but it's a fairly frequent occurrence. No other URL that we try does this. Only TF.

Marin, the fact it only seems to be an issue on your work computers gives me one idea. We recently had a web based app which was set to load on start-up, because it is one which allows patients to log on to a part of our system to make online appointments suddenly stop working. It proved quite a challenge until we twigged the virus buster software had automatically updated, and for some reason applied stricter filtering, and was blocking this site. Re-configuring the permissions re that site solved it. Is it possible your virus/malware protection app has done something similar..?

Marin 10-17-2012 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peter B (Post 108458)
Marin, the fact it only seems to be an issue on your work computers gives me one idea.

It does it at work (PCs). It does it at home (Macs). It does it in my iPad (home, work, China) with AT&T 3G, wifi at home and in hotels, airports, coffee shops here and abroad. It does it on hotel executive lounge PCs. Only TF, never any other URLs.

JD 10-17-2012 07:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marin (Post 108463)
It does it at work (PCs). It does it at home (Macs). It does it in my iPad (home, work, China) with AT&T 3G, wifi at home and in hotels, airports, coffee shops here and abroad. It does it on hotel executive lounge PCs. Only TF, never any other URLs.

No problems on either my PC or iPad. I have never seen the problem ever.

Rambler 10-17-2012 07:24 AM

User error? :hide:

Peter B 10-17-2012 08:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marin (Post 108463)
It does it at work (PCs). It does it at home (Macs). It does it in my iPad (home, work, China) with AT&T 3G, wifi at home and in hotels, airports, coffee shops here and abroad. It does it on hotel executive lounge PCs. Only TF, never any other URLs.

Ah, well Marin, it's clearly got it in for you. You really must have p****d it of in some way, 'cause it's not doing it for anyone else it appears...

Rambler 10-17-2012 08:04 AM

As I recall (a true feat these days) Mark was having problems at one time? Maybe he can shed some light on what the problem was (still is?) and how it got fixed if it ever was.

Capn Chuck 10-17-2012 10:08 AM

The only time we have this same issue is when our wifi provider is not working properly. The wifi in this marina is the worst we have ever experienced. When we connect anywhere else there is never a problem. This doesn't happen with just TF for us. It can be any site. My only suggestions would be to clear your internet cache, cookies, browser history and see if the problem stops. Chuck

Marin 10-17-2012 01:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Capn Chuck (Post 108501)
My only suggestions would be to clear your internet cache, cookies, browser history and see if the problem stops. Chuck

That would make sense if it was just one computer. But if one includes the computers I've used overseas and on the road that experienced the problem, we're talking about a whole bunch of computers of all types, mostly PCs but Mac/iPads, too.

User error is always a possibility. But I rule that out because eventually the URL will work with no change on what I'm doing. It's very intermittent and random. When it does this, it does it a lot. And then I won't experience the problem (on any device, anywhere) at all for weeks or even months. And then suddenly it will start doing it again.

It's not a big deal, it's just a bit annoying when it happens. I've described it (and showed it) to our video/IT engineer at work and his immediate diagnosis was that it's some sort of anomaly in the TF server software or hardware because of the wide variety of computers, search engines, and locations where it occurs. And I should add that I never experienced this issue with Baker's orginal forum. And, as I said, no other URL does this. Only TF.

So it's a mystery. I'm going to file it away though because it would be a great element in the book I'd like to try to write when I finish the one I'm working on now.:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2006 - 2012