Routine Maintenance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tony B

Guru
Vessel Name
Serenity
Vessel Make
Mainship 36 Dual Cabin -1986
Routine Maintenance
I just bought a 1986 36’ Mainship Dual Cabin with twin 350 crusaders.
Probably 90% of the time I will be doing 6-7 Kts and sometimes 15 – 18 kts, but not all that often and I will be taking long trips.
Since I am new to mid size power boats, I will act? like I don’t know anything.
Sooooooooo……..What routine maintenance do you guys do, and at what frequency, whether it be in months, engine hours or whatever?
Thanks in advance
Tony B

We use engine hours to measure our routine engine service. I made up log sheets similar to what we use in the floatplane to track trip hours, total hours, hours since lube oil and filter change, hours since injection pump oil change, generator oil change and so on.

Items like impeller, belt, and coolant changes are tracked by date.

Glad to see you've acquired a power boat Tony, congratulation!

And while I know that you are an experianced boater I will throw out my 2 cents of advice.
Of all the maintenance items, unless you know for sure when the raw water impellors were changed out, I'd start by replacing them. I use a period of 3 yrs/100-150 hrs on my impellors and its seems to be right.

I'll second that! No impellers, no go...or only for a short distance, anyway.

How many hours do you go before oil changes, filter changes, etc.?

If I sound retarded it's because I'm used to my sailboats and diesel engines that I service everything once a year. never have much hours on them in a given year.

Last edited:
Thanks for the congrats Bud.
Now if I could just sell my sailboat before hurricane season in the Gulf

In a normal year I will put on between 35 and 60 engine hours and operate over a five month period.