Grunert Passagemaker Refrigeration not cooling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gsholz

Vessel Make
Sold-GB 52 Europa, Queenship 59, Tolly 45
I'm new to cold plate refrigeration and would appreciate feedback. We have the Grunert Passagemaker holding plate system with two refrigerators and one freezer. The system is AC-powered and has both air and water cooled condensers operating when the unit is on. The compressor is hermetically sealed.

The system is operating but it is not pulling down the cold plates as I think it should. I understand running it for a couple of hours in the morning and evening should keep the cold plates frozen. I have run it for days without the system cycling off. When I look at the evaporators/cold plates, only the first third or so is frosted after running several hours. I understand the cold plates should be completely frosted.

I suspect the refrigerant charge needs to be topped off or the expansion valves need to be adjusted (opened further). Since none of the cold plates really freeze, I suspect the culprit is low refrigerant charge. Anything else I should be looking at?

Captain,

We had a similar issue a few years ago. Two plates we leaking. We were able to weld one and replaced the other. We recharged the refrigerant 404a, replaced the filter drier, hose clamps, fittings and vacuum pump oil.

Presently, it works great and we only need to run the deep freezer for 2 hours every other day or two while cruising.

~Lucky Chcuky

You should have an in-line sight gauge. Usually a round glass cover facing up. If you see bubbles circulating past the sight gauge when the system is running, you need a coolant recharge. I recently removed my 33-year old cold plate system and replaced it with a DC system utilizing my existing ice boxes.