Old Grand Banks 42'

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Greg Lemons

Vessel Name
Malindy
Vessel Make
1973 Classic 42' Grand Banks Trawler
My name is Greg Lemons and I have been restoring a 1973 GB 42' for the last four years, bringing it back as close to original as possible. Her name is Malindy and lives in Madisonville, LA. My plans is to start the Great Loop singlehanded mid summer. I believe she is the oldest fiberglass 42' made in Singapore in 1973, up till December 1972 all 42' were wood. Can anyone shed some light on hull numbers for older Grand Banks and my claim Malindy is the oldest fiberglass boat? :banghead:

Welcome aboard. I don’t have any info on your boat. Sorry.

About 6-7 years ago I was looking at GB42's. There were a couple listed in Australia that were very tired, and I was able to establish their approximate age using hull numbers. They were invariably older than listed by the broker, who simply accepted vendors claims as to age (and likely other things as well) at face value and did not verify it. I think the USA listings were accurate wrt age. I might have more data somewhere, but here are a few numbers from boats for sale and a bit of research at the time.

Attachments

• GB 42 hull number.doc
    32 KB · Views: 88
Last edited:
I also have a research record that states that GB42 hull #353 was the first fiberglass produced, 1973. Mine is hull #966, 1986.

Hi Greg - what’s your hull number? I have a 42 foot 1973/74 with hull number 383.

Matt

Old GB