Right battery fastener material?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PMF1984

Guru
Vessel Name
Wanderer
Vessel Make
Pilgrim 40
OK, I have lead posts with iron studs and copper wire with copper terminals. Or some of the terminals are tinned something from WM.

What is the preferred nut washer material/combination?

Copper washers yes, but copper nuts? Seems they might not stand up to torque. How about silicone bronze?

And what specific combos are bad?

Right now I have a stainless lock washer and a stainless nut.

What you have now is what I have and is pretty common. I doubt your battery has iron studs though.

Greetings,
Mr. PMF. What you're using is pretty well what I've been using for 20 years or so with no apparent problems. I use SS washers and SS wing nuts (snugged down with pliers). I think what is more important is to keep the connections tight and corrosion free. As Mr. a. inferred, I'm thinking steel or SS studs not iron.

I used nylock S/S nuts on the studs so they won’t loosen up. All washers must be on top of any wires just beneath the nut.

staonless has a bad rep for conductivity...although never a problem in my world.

Stainless is OK as long as the wire lug is in full contact with the battery terminal., just dont put stainless between them.

staonless has a bad rep for conductivity...although never a problem in my world.

Stainless is OK as long as the wire lug is in full contact with the battery terminal., just dont put stainless between them.

This:iagree::

Stainless isn't a very good conductor but the wire end should be directly against the battery terminal with nothing in between. If there is more than one wire they should all be in direct contact with each other. Top with a washer and a nylock nut. The washer and nut material don't really matter because they aren't really part of the circuit.

Ken