How To Calculate Loading

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bacchus

Guru
Site Team
Vessel Name
Bacchus
Vessel Make
MS 34 HT Trawler
I'll start by admitting I'm a diesel novice but trying to absorb and understand as much as possible here at TF.

I have no interest in entering the underloading debate so decided to start a separate thread.

I understand that load IS NOT RPM / WOT RPM but...
Can some of the experts here clarify how to calculate % loading correctly.

Assuming WOT meets Mfg Specs - is % Load... (see attached for Yanmar 6lya - STP Ex's)

A - Prop Power / Crank Power for any RPM

B - Prop Power / Prop Power @ WOT

C - Fuel Consumption @ RPM / Fuel Cons @ WOT

D - Other??

Attachments

• Yanmar Performance Curves.pdf
    266.9 KB · Views: 44
  • Power.jpg
    Power.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 77
  • Fuel Cons.jpg
    Fuel Cons.jpg
    56.9 KB · Views: 70
Since AFAIK, there is no ASME or ISO definition for that term. So you can make it anything that you like.

With the advent of electronic engines that measure fuel consumption underway, I have noticed Tony Athens, the Cummins/Yanmar (among others) guru on boatdiesel, starting to talk about propping to 90-95% of wot load, since the convention of propping 100 rpm over rated rpm doesn't work for electronic engines. I think that the instruments on those engines calculate it as fuel measured over wot rated fuel consumption. That is an approximation for hp used over wot rated hp as it is essentially impossible to measure horsepower underway. That approximation works well near wot but gets worse at low rpm loadings.

My definition is hp used (as estimated from my rpm and the engine's prop curve) over maximum rated hp. Others may define it as hp used over rated hp at that rpm. Even some may define it as hp used over prop hp at that rpm.

Take your pick, there is no right or wrong.

David

David