Lehman 120 Thermostat Replacement

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Vessel Name
Catalina Jack
Vessel Make
Defever 44
Okay, I searched the forum before posting this. I need to replace the the temp senders which are difficult (near impossible, I think) to remove without the expansion tank removed. I would replace the thermostats while I have them removed but, despite being a pretty good mechanic, I cannot figure out how to remove the tanks. I have seen posts stating that doing so, to replace the thermostats is easy, but I just don't see it. There is a flange on the bottom of the tanks with studs and nuts. Remove at this point? How? Doesn't look like there is enough clearance to get an open end wrench in there. Help!!

Greetings,
Mr. cj. Yup, that's the flange. I had to alter an open ended wrench (bend and grind if I recall) many, many years ago to actually FIT in there but I can't remember the final configuration of the "specialized" tool. It IS doable and actually quite easy with the right "tool". 1/2" or 9/16"...

giphy.gif

Last edited:
An extended crows foot wrench?

But often they are as thick or thicker than a regular open end.

There is very little clearance. Just a standard open end wrench, and depending on how your engine is installed (ie how close to a bulkhead and overhead clearance) you may have to flip the wrench a lot and won't get more than 1/4 turn with each rotation.

Indeed it is a bit tricky to remove the tank but not as hard as one might think. You just need a bit of patience to unscrew the nuts. Once it's removed it is a 2 minute job.

Lehman Thermostat replacement