Trawler Forum

Trawler Forum (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s3/)
-   -   Raytheon SL70 (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s3/raytheon-sl70-20745.html)

Knot Salted 06-17-2015 02:28 PM

Raytheon SL70
 
Hello,

This old unit performed flawlessly when we really needed it on our maiden trip from Sandusky around the lower peninsula of Michigan four weeks ago. lots of fog! Last weekend, I fired it up just to check it, and got the normal screen, but no targets displayed, and there were plenty of boats all around. Messed with gain and ranges, tried connections at the display - restarted.. --no targets.

Any thoughts? Thanks!

RT Firefly 06-17-2015 03:51 PM

Greetings,
Welcome aboard.

tego 06-17-2015 09:51 PM

I have the same unit. If you'll open up the radome by removing the screws under the dome cover, you'll see that the power wires are simply slipped into the terminals and secured by a screw. These can come loose and the radome doesn't work. It's an easy check. Ben

Knot Salted 06-18-2015 09:39 AM

Thanks!
 
I will check that out this weekend. Much appreciated Ben.

--Jim

Knot Salted 06-23-2015 05:00 PM

Ben,

Thanks!

You suggested popping open the radome to check connections.

when I did, I found that the motor was turning, but the array was not.

Wiped off the 'belt' (lg o-ring) and used my wife's emery board on the well polished motor pulley.

Works like new.

tego 06-23-2015 09:44 PM

Ain't it nice when something is simple? and cheap! Great job. Ben

Knot Salted 06-24-2015 08:13 AM

Sure is. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2006 - 2012