JRC 1000 MKII scanner not rotating

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Eastsounder

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Keeper
Vessel Make
1972 Grand Banks 32'
Hi -- I'm a newbie, jumping right in with a radar question ....

About a year ago, I removed my little lobster-style trawler's wooden mast (with the JRC 1000 MkII closed-array scanner mounted to it) to do some refinishing on the mast. When I remounted the mast, the scanner wouldn't rotate-- I must have knocked it out of whack. So when I turn on the display unit, it does its 60-second warmup countdown, then I press the X-MIT button to start the scanner -- I hear a bit of clicking and scraping from overhead, then nothing ... and no image shows up on the display. Sounds like it's stuck.

I've never taken the cover off the scanner before. Is that even advised? What troubleshooting steps could I take? I rarely used the radar before it stopped working, but it would be nice to have it next time I find myself in a fog or, dog forbid, running home after dark.

Any advice warmly welcomed. Thanks!
Craig

Welcome aboard! :thumb: Maybe the belt pooped of the drive motor?

I can't remember that specific model...but here's a generic "older" radar type troubleshooting...

Scanner cover comes off easy and is no big deal...I can't remember if that model has a giant O-ring gasket or not...just go slow and careful. Again I can't remember if the motor has a cover over it but there should be 1-3 small plates being held down by small Phillips head screws. They come off easily too. If you can see where the motor is and a small toothed belt...just check those before any plate removal...if the belt goes under a plate, then remove that one and one where the majority of wires from the outside cable go.