Trawler Forum

Trawler Forum (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s3/)
-   -   Possible to change a T/H transducer in the water? (http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s3/possible-change-t-h-transducer-water-13136.html)

Dougcole 01-02-2014 04:59 PM

Possible to change a T/H transducer in the water?
 
I think my airmar thru hull transducer is going bad on my Raymarine MFD. Anybody ever swapped one out while the boat is in the water? I'd just be changing the "insert", not the tube.

hollywood8118 01-02-2014 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dougcole (Post 202887)
I think my airmar thru hull transducer is going bad on my Raymarine MFD. Anybody ever swapped one out while the boat is in the water? I'd just be changing the "insert", not the tube.

As long as the bilge is deep enough to hold a few gallons of sea water it shouldn't be a issue.. I used to pull my thru hull to clean the paddle wheel and would swap the blank plug in its place.. clean the paddle wheel then remove and replace the blank with the freshly cleaned wheel. It never was more than a couple gallons to do the entire process.

Hollywood

Larry M 01-02-2014 05:18 PM

I'm with Hollywood, no problem. I would unscrew the transducer with one hand and have a towel in the other. As I pull the transducer out I cover the hole with the towel and do the reverse to put the plug in or to return the transducer. I have also spliced a few Airmar transducers in the bilge which is no problem. I located a water tight junction box on a bulkhead.

Northern Spy 01-02-2014 05:35 PM

Yup. Do it to clean the paddle wheel. The newer airmars have a check valve device built in. Barely any leakage at all.

Edit: Wait a minute. Hollywood led me astray. The transducer is separate from the paddlewheel, so no, I haven't. Does airmar make one line that. Might check their website.

SCOTTEDAVIS 01-02-2014 07:01 PM

As others have said it's not a problem, but 3 things.

1. don't be alone

2. have a plug in reach just in case

3. have positive thoughts like on the Movie "Kellys Heroes"

Always with the negative waves, Moriarty. - YouTube

Sceptic 01-02-2014 09:10 PM

What function of your transducer do you think is failing? It will make a difference in how you replace it. Mike

Edelweiss 01-02-2014 09:57 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I suppose it depends on the style of Airmar Trans. you have. Mine (pictured) is two piece. The inner removable black plastic cartridge is the paddle wheel for the Speedo. and can be taken out from inside the bilge and cleaned or replaced, while in the water with minimal leakage. The outer bronze section is the transducer slug which is installed from outside the hull through a keel block and is bedded in sealer. it also has 50' of cable and a connector on the fathometer end which has to be passed through the keel block from the outside.

I can't imagine trying to pass the 50' of cable and trying to bed the transducer into the keel block while in the water. A better option would be to ask your boat yard to do a lift and hang for you long enough to change out the transducer. If it's someone you do business with, they will probably do it for a minimal fee.

Nightcap 01-03-2014 03:05 PM

If you have an E or C series I would be looking at the DSM rather than the transducer. They experience a lot of intemittent issues which can usually be solved with modifications to the power supply plug and/or software upgrade.

kulas44 01-03-2014 06:48 PM

You will have hell changing that ducer in the water. The fairing block will be 5200d to the brass and everything will be 5200d to the hull. Believe me it aint gonna happen. If you hire a diver he will charge by the hour because he knows its gonna be tuff. You will almost certainly destroy the fairing block. It will more than likely be thru bolted to the hull, its supposed to be anyway, to keep it from turning. Fairing blocks are usually replaced when TH fittings are changed. But, like another posted, its probably not the transducer.

tpbrady 01-03-2014 06:54 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Against a lot of manufacturers recommendations and conventional wisdom, I mounted a transducer on the stern. Since I was experimenting with a Lowrance Structure Scan setup I put the structure scan transducer there also. I saw no problems with this arrangement and the Structure Scan worked very well. About once every two weeks I had to do some cleaning on the paddle wheel to keep the water speed working, but other than that, no problems. I am going to try some transducer paint this summer and see if that makes a difference. I also have a conventional thru hull located to the port of the keel about midships. Either Lowrance MFD can use the structure scan or use the input off either transducer. You just have to be sure what your depth source is. Since the offset from the keel is different from each and I can show that on the screen, that gives me a hint which source is being used without opening some menus.

Except for the distance from the bow to the stern, I don't see any problems with a stern mounted transducer.

Tom

David Carter 01-03-2014 11:34 PM

Tpbrady is that a stern mounted thruster? Back to the subject I'm getting ready to install a 740 gps in place of an older Garmin and I'm not sure I'll be able to use the threw hulls I have or if I'll need to pull an put new ones in. Is there anyway to tell what I have by what's in the bildge I know I have some blank pieces of plastic to go in if I pull the transducer out.

N4712 01-03-2014 11:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Carter (Post 203227)
Tpbrady is that a stern mounted thruster? Back to the subject I'm getting ready to install a 740 gps in place of an older Garmin and I'm not sure I'll be able to use the threw hulls I have or if I'll need to pull an put new ones in. Is there anyway to tell what I have by what's in the bildge I know I have some blank pieces of plastic to go in if I pull the transducer out.

That is a thruster, we have a similar one on our Camano. Also I doubt your transducers compatible.

Northern Spy 01-04-2014 12:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Carter (Post 203227)
I'm getting ready to install a 740 gps in place of an older Garmin and I'm not sure I'll be able to use the threw hulls I have or if I'll need to pull an put new ones in. Is there anyway to tell what I have by what's in the bildge I know I have some blank pieces of plastic to go in if I pull the transducer out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by N4712 (Post 203228)
I doubt your transducers compatible.

Most transducers are made by Airmar and sold with different cable connectors for the Electronics brand. If yours is an Airmar, you can purchase an adapter cable here: Transducer Parts | Blue Heron Marine Electronics

Edelweiss 01-04-2014 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Carter (Post 203227)
Back to the subject I'm getting ready to install a 740 gps in place of an older Garmin and I'm not sure I'll be able to use the threw hulls I have or if I'll need to pull an put new ones in.

What was your old Garmin unit that you replaced? That will give you an idea which transducer you have installed?

N4712 01-04-2014 12:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Northern Spy (Post 203230)
Most transducers are made by Airmar and sold with different cable connectors for the Electronics brand. If yours is an Airmar, you can purchase an adapter cable here: Transducer Parts | Blue Heron Marine Electronics

True, if he has the interchangble type he should be able to just buy another insert I believe?

Northern Spy 01-04-2014 12:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by N4712 (Post 203232)
True, if he has the interchangble type he should be able to just buy another insert I believe?

The insert is merely the paddlewheel. The temp sensor and the transducer are cast in resin in the bronze shoe, if it is a B744V, as I am postulating.

The difference is that the existing transducer is likely a 600w whereas a 740 has a 1000w transceiver, so he may not take advantage of the greater depth ability of the 740.

Garmin also sells an 8 pin to 4 pin adapter. Check the ends though, I think my transducer came with the 8 to 4 adapter from Garmin.

tpbrady 01-04-2014 12:58 AM

David,

It sure is. Hydraulic and works well.

Tom

CPseudonym 01-04-2014 03:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Northern Spy (Post 203230)
Most transducers are made by Airmar and sold with different cable connectors for the Electronics brand. If yours is an Airmar, you can purchase an adapter cable here: Transducer Parts | Blue Heron Marine Electronics

Great link NS :thumb::thumb:

Stashing that one for future reference, thanks.

psneeld 01-04-2014 06:39 AM

Most modern transducers are powerful enough to just be mounted inside and shoot through the hull...no special ducer needed.

When I was doing my bottom over..I just yanked the old ducer and filled in the hole....never even planned on putting the new "through hull" ducer through the hull as I really don't need the sensitivity of a fishfinder in a trawler.

David Carter 01-04-2014 09:29 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Edelweiss (Post 203231)
What was your old Garmin unit that you replaced? That will give you an idea which transducer you have installed?

I had a Garmin 2006c. And a separate Garmin dept/fish finder.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2006 - 2012